Preise

The Hotel Bellevue des Alpes ranks among the few remaining grand hotels of the nineteenth century. The Kleine Scheidegg lies amid alpine splendour at the foot of the Eiger, Mönch and Jungfrau at 2070m above Grindelwald and Wengen. As the centre of the ski and hiking region, it is also the direct starting point for the Jungfraujoch. The historically important hotel is still run as a family business with tradition in mind. Attached to the hotel is a day restaurant with seating for 120 on the panoramic terrace.

ICOMOS: "Swiss Historic Hotel" of the year 2011   

 

 

 

 

Preise

The hotel is open from 16th June until 16th September 2018 and from 21st December 2018 until 7th April 2019.

As we choose not to use any kind of third-party reservation or booking platforms, we are therefore able to ensure that you receive the best possible offer when booking through our reception desk.

The Hotel Bellevue des Alpes offers 100 guest beds. Room prices are calculated per night and include a 4-course evening dinner, breakfast buffet, service charge and VAT.

Double room for 2 people incl. breakfast & 4-course evening meal

with bath/WC CHF 400.- bis 550.-
with shower/WC CHF 380.- bis 440.-

Single room for 1 person incl. breakfast & 4-course evening meal

with bath/WC CHF 250.- bis 290.-
with shower/WC CHF 230.- bis 270.-

Children's room with wash basin CHF 160.- bis 280.-

Reductions for a single guest in a double room on request
Reductions for children up until 11 years of age

For bookings and enquiries please contact us by phone or by e-mail.

+41 (0)33 855 12 12

welcome@scheidegg-hotels.ch

 

 

 

Anreise

Kleine Scheidegg is a car-free region. The only way to reach the Hotel Bellevue des Alpes, both in summer and winter, is with the Wengernalp Railway.
You have a choice of two different routes:
1. From Lauterbrunnen via Wengen and on to the "Kleine Scheidegg" station.
2. From Grindelwald-Grund to the "Kleine Scheidegg" station.

Both Lauterbrunnen and Grindelwald are easily reached thanks to excellent rail connections via Bern-Spiez-Interlaken, Brig-Spiez-Interlaken or Lucerne-Interlaken.

By car you travel via Interlaken to Lauterbrunnen or Grindelwald Grund. On arriving you find available parking in the multi-storey car park, as well as public parking places in Lauterbrunnen. Grindelwald Grund has outdoor parking and in Grindelwald Dorf you additionally find a multi-storey car park by the railway station.

Please take note of the Wengernalp Railway timetable when planning your journey. Trains run on a half-hourly schedule with the final departures leaving early in the evening: from Lauterbrunnen 17.37h in winter, 18.37h in summer, from Grindelwald Grund 17.55h in winter, 18.55h in summer.

Parking
 
Grindelwald
Lauterbrunnen

Travel information
 
 
 
www.jungfraubahnen.ch
www.sbb.ch
www.taxigrindelwald.ch
www.flughafenbern.ch

General information
 
www.jungfrauregion.ch
www.myswitzerland.com

Surroundings/Activities
 
 
 
 
www.snowsportsscheidegg.ch
www.wyss-sport.ch
www.wengernalp.ch
www.truemmelbachfaelle.ch
www.jungfraujoch.ch

Partners
 
www.swiss-historic-hotels.ch
www.historichotelsofeurope.com

 

 

 

Press Reports and Media

PDF documents:

Salon #13, 2017
Gaultmillau, November 2017
Madame, 2017
Umbauen + Renovieren, 2017
Seasons, 2016
A/R Magazin Voyageur, Juli/August 2015
Milk Magazine No. 46, 2014
De Morgen Magazine, 2014
Bolero, 2013
Country, 2012
Jungfrau Zeitung, 2010
Sensual Living, 2010
Elle, 2010
Guardian, 2010
Bianco, 2008
The Week, März 2008
Annabelle, November 2007
Decoration, November/Dezember 2006
Coté Sud Est Ouest, Januar 2006
Coté Est, Juni 2005
Cosmopolitan, Februar 2004
Baumeister Unterwegs, Oktober 2003
Frankfurter Allgemeine Sonntagszeitung, Februar 2003
Architectural Digest, Februar 2002
Allegra, September 2001

 

Film/TV/Media

External links:

"Schweizer Hotelgeschichten, Legenden am Berg", 2017
Trailer "The Phantom Thread", 2017 (the hotel as one of the locations)
"Passe-moi les jumelles", 2013
Trailer "Nordwand", 2008
"The beckoning silence", 2007
Trailer "The Eiger Sanction", 1975 (mit Clint Eastwood und George Kennedy)
Trailer "Downhill Racer", 1969 (mit Robert Redford und Gene Hackman)
"Sein bester Freund", 1962, Luis Trenker
"Kleine Scheidegg - Im Banne der Jungfrau", 1937, Richard Schweizer
http://www.cyranos.ch/sfklsc-d.htm

 

 

 

“Adolf Seiler here, who's that? Make it short.” That's what you would have heard on the telephone if you dialled No.1 Grindelwald at the beginning of the 20th century. Adolf Seiler was an authority, a charismatic personality who held sway over the Scheidegg pass for some 50 years. He was the heir to the wrestling king Christian Seiler, who in 1840 built the inn “Zur Gemse” on the saddle between Lauberhorn and Dreigestirn. Christian was the founder, Adolf brought Victorian drive and energy to the enterprise; he looked for and found spring water, conducted sewage to Grindelwald and, being an good artillery man, set up a cannon in front of the inn. It thundered out each time a guest, such as Alphonse Daudet - of Tartarin fame - reached the summit of the Eiger, Mönch or Jungfrau. The mule train which carried goods and guests up from the two valleys either side of the Scheidegg, a climb of some 1000 metres, were also part of the successful solution to the logistics problem. The inn “Zur Gemse” became known as the “Bellevue Hotel” and - long before the railway was built in 1893 - business boomed, gladdening both heart and pocket. In 1892 Adolf became a father. Emma, the only child and future sole heir, was born and there was widespread delight not only in the family place of origin, Bönigen on the lake of Brienz but also in Grindelwald and right up to the Wärgistal and Wengernalp, the Scheidegg's neighbouring alp co-operatives. What pleased Adolf, pleased everyone. The Wengernalp co-operative decided to celebrate the event by creating a piece of real estate which would provide a little extra something year after year. Alongside the Hotel Bellevue they built the Hotel des Alpes. In 1893 Zürich tycoons built the Wengernalp Railway from Lauterbrunnen over the Scheidegg to Grindelwald. And in 1912 the Zürich banker-engineer and multitalent Guyer-Zeller constructed the highest railway line in the Alps, through the Eiger mountain up to the Jungfraujoch. So it was goodbye to the mules, and partly also to the Wengernalp co-operative but not to the Seiler family. The Alp Einig, the annual assembly of the alp co-operative decided that they were better at making cheese than running the Hotel Des Alpes. So this was sold to Adolf for about 100,000 gold francs. The Seilers' success story, like so many others, came to an end in 1914. However, they survived the crisis of the First World War. The hotels were closed but they had reserves to fall back on, so for four years they hibernated like marmots. Meanwhile, Emma had grown into a pretty young girl and had acquired social polish in London and Paris. And she was receiving ever more frequent visits from the cavalry officer Lieutenant Fritz von Almen of Trümmelbach which were to culminate in marriage. Over the winter they worked together in hotels, finally with Count Renesse in the legendary Palace Hotel in Maloja as managers. But in 1925 they decided the Upper Engadine was too remote und asked father and father-in-law Adolf whether just possibly, under certain conditions, the two hotels on the Scheidegg might be for sale. They were. The entire Trümmelbach enterprise were brought in and everyone knuckled down. Fritz's mother, Margrith von Almen Hirni, a widow and the first female secondary school teacher in the Bernese Oberland, saw clouds on the horizon but succumbed to the charm of her only son and his wife Emma. Then came the Roaring, Charleston-mad Twenties and Thirties. The Bellevue and Des Alpes had been summer season only hotels. Now central heating was installed and a log fire in the improvised bar. But it was really only warm in bed or in the bar. The English - initiators of modern alpine skiing - showed great enthusiasm and climbed the Lauberhorn on skis every day, skiing down once a day to Wengen or Grindelwald, from where the Wengernalp rack railway, which with great reluctance had also switched over to winter operation, took them back up to the 2064 m Scheidegg. Ticket collectors and engine drivers were regularly invited to a small party in the buffet to thank them for “such an excellent journey”. Fritz and Emma von Almen-Seiler's winter season adventure was a success from its first season in 1925/26. Between 1929 and 1930 the hotels were fitted out to withstand the rigours of winter and already then equipped with many bathrooms. The English-style foyer, the lounge, was built and the bar was decorated with watercolours by Walter Trier, the illustrator of Erich Kästner's books. The small banqueting room in French style, with a view of the north face of the Eiger, took shape and was provided with a grand piano. The restaurant, with a view stretching from the Blümlisalp to the Mönch was built, and the tea terrace - to be used wearing a fur coat when the föhn was blowing hard! The “Gaststube” was not rustic in style but still looked genuine and a four-piece orchestra played there nightly. Every winter a correspondent of the London “Tatler” - Great Britain's number one society magazine, founded in 1901 and still published today - spent three weeks in the Hotel Bellevue. The English in those days were skiing fanatics. When the sun shone too strongly and the snow on the Lauberhorn slopes became wet, a notice was placed in front of the hotel which read “Don't touch the Lauberhorn after eleven”. And this exhortation was heeded by one and all, as no one wanted to be skiing in half-frozen ruts the next day. In those days the season opened in late November or early December and ended as late as May. Those pre global-warming times provided snow reliably, and at the altitude of the Scheidegg slogans such as “Good snow for skiing well into May” and “First to open, last to close” were perfectly apt. There was also curling in front of the hotel. In 1934 the Scheidegg guest team, supplemented by the hotel concierge, won the Jackson Cup, at that time more or less the world championship. Also in the 1930s local mountaineering took a highly dramatic turn. The Eiger, 3970 m, had been climbed for the first time already in 1858 by the Englishman Barrington, but the 1800 m high North Wall was only conquered 80 years later in 1938 and the North Wall variation known as the Lauper route, in 1932. All the famous climbers, from Barrington to Lauper and the conqeurors of the North Wall with Heckmaier, were guests on the Scheidegg, including the first to climb it in winter, the first on the direct route, the first to climb it alone, the first woman, the first Japanese and so on. Scheidegg was and is the base camp, the focus of international attention. Fritz and Emma von Almen survived the crises of the 1930s brilliantly and were thinking of building a ski-lift up the Lauberhorn close to the hotel in 1939 when the Second World War broke out. The skilift only started operating in 1941/42. They survived the war with the troops of the army's winter mountain courses. The bonds of friendship between the hotel owners and the soldiers brought many of the latter back as regular guests, with happy memories of the days when they were on ski-courses in field grey or white camouflage clothing. Meanwhile, Fritz von Almen had become a Major in the cavalry and a member of the National Council. He had also become an impatient man. He was itching to start building again. Now there were also two sons, Fritz and Kaspar, for whom occupations had to be found. The Bellevue and Des Alpes hotels were renovated in 1947 (the former having a bel-étage added), which ensured the continuing success of the Scheidegg. Within the family the son Fritz became owner and manager of the hotels on the Scheidegg, and after his untimely death in 1974, his wife took over. In 1998 she sold the hotels plus the surrounding land to her eldest nephew, Andreas von Almen - an architect by profession - who, together with his wife Silvia, a flutist, continues to run the business with confidence and optimism. The revolving door swings you into the entrance hall. Amazed hesitation - where am I? Yes, you are back in the 1920s and there's the “timeless touch of a country house”. Around the corner there's a reminder of the fin de siècle, another generation back in time. Is the altitude and the low pressure at 2054 m playing tricks with you? A time lag? The confusion you experience as you go back and forth in the years can be explained by the genuineness of the interior decoration, the furniture and the paintings. In front of the swing door to the 1929 bar hang photographs of the heroic figures who climbed the North Wall of the Eiger between 1937 and 1992. Sit on your bar stool and stay “on the rocks” and gradually location and time will fall into place.

Kaspar von Almen

 

 

 

Kontakt

Hotel Bellevue des Alpes
Family Silvia and Andreas von Almen
with Katrin Wüthrich and David van der Kamp
CH 3801 Kleine Scheidegg
Switzerland
Telephon +41 (0)33 855 12 12
welcome@scheidegg-hotels.ch

 

For access to our online image archive, press reports or all kinds of publications, kindly contact us by phone or e-mail.
 
Concept and design:
Arnfried Weiss, Hamburg
Realization:
Uwe Patjens, Hamburg
History text:
Kaspar von Almen
Photos:
Andreas von Almen, Christian von Almen,
Silvia von Almen, Charlie Dombrow,
Stefan Müller, Sabrina Rothe,
Arnfried Weiss
 
(c) Copyright 2017 Scheidegg Hotels

 

Imprint

Scheidegg Hotels AG
CH 3801 Kleine Scheidegg
Switzerland
Telephon +41 (0)33 855 12 12
welcome@scheidegg-hotels.ch
VAT number: 250895, Trade and Companies Register: CHE-105.966.146

Responsible Publisher:
Andreas von Almen

Privacy Information

Legal notice:
Despite careful examination we cannot be made liable for the correctness of publications. Operators of the Scheidegg Hotel are not liable for damages directly or indirectly caused by the use or non-use of the information provided on this website or through the use of incorrect and incomplete information, unless intentional or grossly negligent fault can be proven. The operators of the hotel are not responsible for the content of linked pages and in no way adopt their contents. Please contact us directly should you wish to make use of any of the contents on our websites. Thank you.

 

X

HOTEL & LOCATION

RATES
& BOOKING

   INTERIOR   

 INFORMATION 

   IMPRESSIONS   

PRESS REPORTS
& MEDIA

HISTORY

CONTACT

DEUTSCH

Preise

Das Hotel Bellevue des Alpes zählt zu den wenigen noch existierenden Grandhotels des 19ten Jahrhunderts. Am Fusse von Eiger, Mönch und Jungfrau liegt die Kleine Scheidegg auf 2070m inmitten alpiner Schönheit über Grindelwald und Wengen. Als Zentrum der Ski- und Wanderregion ist dieser Ort auch der direkte Ausgangspunkt zum Jungfraujoch. Das historisch bedeutsame Haus wird noch heute traditionsbewusst als Familienbetrieb geführt. An das Hotel angeschlossen ist ein Tagesrestaurant mit 120 Plätzen.

ICOMOS: "Swiss Historic Hotel" des Jahres 2011   

 

 

 

 

Preise

Das Hotel ist geöffnet vom 16. Juni bis zum 16. September 2018 und vom 21. Dezember 2018 bis zum 7. April 2019.

Da wir keine fremden Reservierungs- und Buchungsplattformen nutzen, können wir gewährleisten, dass Sie das beste Angebot bei der Buchung über unsere Rezeption erhalten.

Das Hotel Bellevue des Alpes verfügt über 100 Betten. Die Zimmerpreise werden pro Nacht berechnet und schliessen das Abendessen mit 4 Gängen, Frühstücksbuffet, Service sowie die Mehrwertsteuer ein.

Doppelzimmer für 2 Personen inkl. Frühstück & Abendessen mit 4 Gängen

mit Bad/WC CHF 400.- bis 550.-
mit Dusche/WC CHF 380.- bis 440.-

Einzelzimmer für 1 Person inkl. Frühstück & Abendessen mit 4 Gängen

mit Bad/WC CHF 250.- bis 290.-
mit Dusche/WC CHF 230.- bis 270.-

Kinderzimmer mit Waschbecken CHF 160.- bis 280.-

Ermässigung für den Einzelgast im Doppelzimmer auf Anfrage
Ermässigung für Kinder bis 11 Jahre

Für Anfragen oder Reservierungen kontaktieren Sie uns bitte per Telefon oder Email.

 

Buchungsanfrage     

 

 

Buchungsanfrage

×

 

Anreise

Sie erreichen das Hotel Bellevue des Alpes auf der Kleinen Scheidegg im Sommer wie im Winter nur mit der Wengernalpbahn. Die Kleine Scheidegg ist autofrei. Es gibt zwei verschiedene Routen:
1. Von Lauterbrunnen über Wengen zur Station "Kleine Scheidegg".
2. Von Grindelwald zur Station "Kleine Scheidegg".

Nach Lauterbrunnen bzw. nach Grindelwald bestehen gute Bahnverbindungen mit der Bahn via Bern-Spiez-Interlaken, Brig-Spiez-Interlaken oder Luzern-Interlaken.

Mit dem Auto fahren Sie über Interlaken nach Lauterbrunnen oder Grindelwald Grund. Parkmöglichkeiten finden Sie in Lauterbrunnen im Parkhaus oder auf öffentlichen Parkplätzen, Grindelwald Grund bietet Parkplätze im Freien. In Grindelwald Dorf befindet sich zudem ein Parkhaus bei der Bahnstation.

Berücksichtigen Sie bitte bei Ihrer Reiseplanung die Fahrzeiten der Wengernalpbahn: Fahrplan im Halbstundentakt, letzte Bergfahrt am frühen Abend, d.h. ab Lauterbrunnen im Winter 17.37 Uhr, im Sommer 18.37 Uhr, ab Grindelwald Grund im Winter 17.55 Uhr, im Sommer 18.55 Uhr.

 

Parken
 
Grindelwald
Lauterbrunnen

Anreise-Informationen
 
 
 
www.jungfraubahnen.ch
www.sbb.ch
www.taxigrindelwald.ch
www.flughafenbern.ch

Allgemeine Informationen
 
www.jungfrauregion.ch
www.myswitzerland.com

Umgebung/Aktivitäten
 
 
 
 
www.snowsportsscheidegg.ch
www.wyss-sport.ch
www.wengernalp.ch
www.truemmelbachfaelle.ch
www.jungfraujoch.ch

Partner
 
www.swiss-historic-hotels.ch
www.historichotelsofeurope.com

 

 

 

Presse

PDF-Dokumente:

Salon #13, 2017
Gaultmillau, November 2017
Madame, 2017
Umbauen + Renovieren, 2017
Seasons, 2016
A/R Magazin Voyageur, Juli/August 2015
Milk Magazine No. 46, 2014
De Morgen Magazine, 2014
Bolero, 2013
Country, 2012
Jungfrau Zeitung, 2010
Sensual Living, 2010
Elle, 2010
Guardian, 2010
Bianco, 2008
The Week, März 2008
Annabelle, November 2007
Decoration, November/Dezember 2006
Coté Sud Est Ouest, Januar 2006
Coté Est, Juni 2005
Cosmopolitan, Februar 2004
Baumeister Unterwegs, Oktober 2003
Frankfurter Allgemeine Sonntagszeitung, Februar 2003
Architectural Digest, Februar 2002
Allegra, September 2001

 

Kino/TV/Medien

Externe Links:

"Schweizer Hotelgeschichten, Legenden am Berg", 2017
Trailer "The Phantom Thread", 2017 (das Hotel als einer der Drehorte)
"Passe-moi les jumelles", 2013
Trailer "Nordwand", 2008
"The beckoning silence", 2007
Trailer "The Eiger Sanction", 1975 (mit Clint Eastwood und George Kennedy)
Trailer "Downhill Racer" 1969, (mit Robert Redford und Gene Hackman)
"Sein bester Freund", 1962, Luis Trenker
"Kleine Scheidegg - Im Banne der Jungfrau", 1937, Richard Schweizer

 

 

 

"Hier Seiler Adolf, wer dort? Fasset Euch churz" So tönte es, wenn man nach der Jahrhundertwende den Fernsprecher benützte und die Nr. 1, Gemeinde Grindelwald, einstellte. Er, dieser Adolf eben, war eine Autorität, hatte Ausstrahlung und gebot über den Scheidegg-Pass etwa 50 Jahre lang. Er war der Erbe des Schwinger-Königs Christian Seiler, der 1840 das Gasthaus "Zur Gemse" in den Bergsattel zwischen Lauberhorn und Dreigestirn hinstellte. Christian war der Gründer, Adolf brachte viktorianischen Schwung ins Unternehmen, suchte und fand Quellwasser, leitete Abwasser nach Grindelwald, stellte als Artillerist eine Kanone vors Haus, die jedesmal losdonnerte, wenn ein Gast, wie etwa Alphonse Daudet-Tartarin den Eiger-, Mönch- oder Jungfraugipfel erreichte. Zur beherrschten Logistik gehörten auch die Maultierkolonnen, die aus den beiden Tälern Gäste und Güter hinauftrugen, rund 1000 Höhenmeter hoch. Aus dem Gasthaus "Zur Gemse" wurde das Hotel "Bellevue" und die Konjunktur – vor dem Bahnbau 1893 – war eine Herz und Sack erfreuende. 1892 wurde Adolf Vater: Emma, das einzige Kind, die zukünftige Alleinerbin, wurde geboren und Freude herrschte vom Heimatort der Seiler, Bönigen am Brienzersee, über Grindelwald bis hinauf zu den Alpschaften Wärgistal und Wengernalp, den beiden Nachbarn. Was den Adolf freute, freute alle. So ein Familienfest bringt die Teilnehmer auf Gedanken: die Wengernalp entschloss sich, den Geburtstagskuchen auf dem Pass symbolisch zu werten, einen Dauerkuchen, eine Immobilie zu schaffen, an der man fortab jährlich knuspern konnte. Die Aelpler bauten neben dem "Bellevue" das Hotel "Des Alpes". Zusätzlich bauten Zürcher-Herren die Wengernalpbahn von Lauterbrunnen über die Scheidegg nach Grindelwald 1893 und der Banquier-Ingenieur und Tausendsassa Guyer-Zeller abschliessend noch die Jungfraubahn 1912. Au revoir les mulets, nicht aber Adieu für die Seilers, teilweise aber doch für die Wengernälper. Der Alp-Einig, die Landsgemeinde eigentlich einer Bergschaft, befand, dass man Käse besser herstellen könne als das Hotel "Des Alpes" führen. Es wurde für zirka 800.000 Goldfranken dem Adolf verkauft – Seilers Erfolgs-Story fand, wie so viele andere, 1914 ihr Ende. Doch selbstverständlich überstand man die Krise des Ersten Weltkrieges. Die Hotels blieben geschlossen, aber man hatte ja Polster, vergrub sich murmeltiermässig für 4 Jahre. Inzwischen war auch Emma gross und hübsch geworden, hatte gesellschaftlichen Schliff in Paris und London erhalten. Aber auch immer häufigeren Besuch vom Kavallerie-Leutnant Fritz von Almen zum Trümmelbach. Man heiratete. Man ging gemeinsam wintersüber in Stellung. Zuletzt beim Grafen Renesse im legendären Palace-Hotel in Maloja als Direktion. 1925 empfand man aber das Oberengadin als zu abgelegen und klopfte beim Vater, respektive Schwiegervater Adolf auf der Scheidegg an, ob eventuell, unter Umständen, vielleicht die beiden Hotels zu kaufen wären. Sie waren. Die ganze Trümmelbach-Unternehmung musste sich ins Zeug legen. Mutter Margrith von Almen-Hirni Witwe, erste Sekundarlehrerin des Berneroberlandes, sah Gewölk am Himmel, erlag aber dem Charme ihres einzigen Sohnes Fritz und dessen Gattin Emma. Es kamen die verrückten, Charlston tanzenden Zwanziger- und Dreissigerjahre. In den Sommerferienhotels Bellevue und Des Alpes wurde Zentralheizung installiert, in der improvisierten Bar ein Holzofen-Cheminée. Wirklich warm war es eigentlich nur in Bett oder Bar und die Engländer, Erfinder des modernen alpinen Skifahrens, zeigten sich begeistert, erklommen täglich auf Fellen das Lauberhorn und fuhren ein Mal pro Tag nach Gindelwald oder Wengen, von wo sie die Wengernalp-Zahnradbahn, die sich widerwillig und schmollend ebenfalls auf Winterbetrieb umgestellt hatte, hinauf auf die 2064 Meter hohe Scheidegg zurückbrachte. Kondukteure und Lokführer wurden regelmässig zu einer kleinen Party im Buffet eingeladen: "We had such an excellent journey". Fritz und Emma von Almen-Seilers Winterabenteuer hatte von der ersten Saison 1925/26 an Erfolg und von 1929 bis 30 wurden die Hotels winterfest und damals schon mit vielen Bädern eingerichtet. Die englische Halle, the Lounge wurde gebaut, die Bar wurde mit Aquarellen von Walter Trier, dem Illustrator der Bücher Erich Kästners, geschmückt, der kleine Festsaal im französischen Stil und mit Blick auf die Eigerwand entstand, ein Flügel fand darin Platz, das Restaurant mit Blick von der Blümlisalpgruppe zum Mönch wurde gebaut – bei Föhnsturm ohne Pelzmantel nicht zu gebrauchen – die Tee-Terrasse, die Gaststube, nicht rustikal, sondern echt noch, im Prä-Landi-Stil, und ein ständiges Viermann-Orchester spielte allnächtlich. Für drei Wochen pro Saison weilte ein Korrespondent des Londoner "Tatler" im Hotel Bellevue, des Gesellschaftsmagazins Nummer 1 Grossbritanniens, founded 1901 and still published today – die Engländer von damals waren Ski-Fanatiker. Schien die Sonne zu stark und wurde der Schnee auf den Lauberhornhängen nass, wurde eine Tafel vors Hotel gesteckt, auf der es hiess: "Do not touch the Lauberhorn after eleven!" und männiglich hielt sich daran, wollte doch keiner tags darauf in halbgefrorenen Furchen fahren. Ende November, anfangs Dezember wurde damals eröffnet und im Mai erst geschlossen. Das noch nicht erwärmte Klima schneite zuverlässig und auf Scheidegghöhe galt wirklich: "Skischnee bis in den Mai hinein" und "First to open, last to close". Auch Curling wurde vor den Hotels gespielt. Das Scheidegg-Gäste-Team, ergänzt durch den Hotel-Concierge, gewann 1934 den Jackson-Cup, damals so etwas wie die Weltmeisterschaft und in den Dreissigerjahren begann das Alpin-Spiel mit der grössten Dramatik. Zwar wurde der Eiger, 3970m, 1858 vom Engländer Barrington erstmals bestiegen, die 1800 Meter hohe Nordwand aber erst 1938, 80 Jahre später, die Nordwand-Variante, die Lauper-Route, 1932. Von Barrington über Lauper zu den Nordwandbezwingern mit Heckmaier waren alle auf Scheidegg zu Gast, auch die Erstbegeher im Winter, die Erstbegeher der direkten Route, der erste Alleinbegeher, die erste Frau, die ersten Japaner usw. Scheidegg, das Basislager, der international gewordene Blickpunkt. Fulminant überstand man die Krise der Dreissigerjahre und Fritz mit Emma dachten an den Bau eines Skiliftes aufs schwellennahe Lauberhorn. Aber es kam das Jahr 1939. Und bis der Lift fuhr, wurde es 41/42. Mit den Soldaten der Wintergebirgskurse der Armee überstand man den Krieg und die gegenseitige Sympathie zwischen den Hotelbesitzern und der Truppe brachte viele feldgraue, respektive weiss getarnte Skikurs-Nostalgiker als Stammgäste zurück. Fritz von Almen war inzwischen Kavallerie-Major, Nationalrat und ungeduldig geworden: er musste wieder einmal bauen. Auch waren zwei Söhne da, Fritz und Kaspar, die es zu beschäftigen galt. Bellevue und Des Alpes wurden erneuert, das erstere um eine Bel-Etage vergrössert, was 1947, zusammen mit dem speditiven Skilift, den weiteren Erfolg der Scheidegg garantierte. Familienintern wurde Sohn Fritz von Almen Besitzer und Leiter der Passhotels, nach seinem frühen Tod 1974 seine Frau, die 1998 Hotels samt Umschwung an den ältesten Neffen, Andreas von Almen, verkaufte. Zusammen mit seiner Frau Silvia, eigentlich Flötistin, führt dieser, eigentlich Architekt, die Geschäfte nun wieder mit Zuversicht und Optimismus weiter. Die Drehtür schwingt den Gast ins Entrée, ins Vestibul. Staunendes Zögern. Wo bin ich? Richtig: man ist zurückversetzt in die Zwanzigerjahre, spürt, zeitlos einen "touch of a countryhouse", um die Ecke rum eine Erinnerung ans Fin de-Si├Ęcle, eine weitere Generation zurück im Zeitgefühl. Spielt die Höhe, der geringe Druck auf 2064 Meter der Wahrnehmung einen Streich? A timelag? Man pendelt zwischen Vorgestern und Heute. Doch ist die Verwirrung des Zeitgefühls erklärbar mit der Echtheit von Innenarchitektur, Mobiliar und Gemälden. Vor der Schwingtür zur Bar von 1929 hängen die Photos der Eigernordwand-Koryphäen 1937-1992. Auf dem Barstuhl bleibe man besser "on the rocks" – und Ort und Zeit stabilisieren sich wieder.

Kaspar von Almen

 

 

 

Kontakt

Hotel Bellevue des Alpes
Familie Silvia und Andreas von Almen
mit Katrin Wüthrich und David van der Kamp
CH 3801 Kleine Scheidegg
Schweiz
Telefon +41 (0)33 855 12 12
welcome@scheidegg-hotels.ch

Buchungsanfrage

 

Buchungsanfrage

×
Wir sind an einem Aufenthalt in Ihrem Hotel interessiert. Bitte schicken Sie uns ein unverbindliches Angebot:
 x  und  x 
 als Familie bevorzugen wir zwei verbundene Zimmer
 als Einzelgast bevorzuge ich ein Doppelzimmer zur Einzelnutzung
Anfrage absenden!

Für den Zugang zu unserem Online-Bildarchiv für die Presse oder jegliche Art von Veröffentlichung treten Sie bitte telefonisch oder per Email mit uns in Kontakt.
 
Konzept und Gestaltung:
Arnfried Weiss, Hamburg
Realisierung:
Uwe Patjens, Hamburg
Text Historie:
Kaspar von Almen
Fotos:
Andreas von Almen, Christian von Almen,
Silvia von Almen, Charlie Dombrow,
Stefan Müller, Sabrina Rothe,
Arnfried Weiss
 
(c) Copyright 2017 Scheidegg Hotels

 

Impressum

Scheidegg Hotels AG
CH 3801 Kleine Scheidegg
Schweiz
Telefon +41 (0)33 855 12 12
welcome@scheidegg-hotels.ch
MWST-Nr.: 250895, Handelsregister: CHE-105.966.146

Verantwortlich für den Inhalt dieser Webseite:
Andreas von Almen

Informationen zum Datenschutz

Rechtliche Anmerkungen:
Eine Haftung für die Richtigkeit der Veröffentlichungen kann trotz sorgfältiger Prüfung nicht übernommen werden. Für Schäden die durch die Nutzung oder Nichtnutzung der auf dieser Website abgestellten Informationen oder durch die Nutzung fehlerhafter und unvollständiger Informationen unmittelbar oder mittelbar verursacht werden, haften die Betreiber der Scheidegg Hotels nicht, sofern ihnen nicht nachweislich vorsätzliches oder grob fahrlässiges Verschulden zur Last fällt. Die Betreiber des Hotels sind nicht für den Inhalt der verknüpften Seiten verantwortlich und machen sich deren Inhalte ausdrücklich nicht zu eigen. Sollten Sie Inhalte unserer Seiten übernehmen wollen, setzen Sie sich bitte mit uns in Verbindung.

 

Geschenkgutschein

×
Vielen Dank, dass Sie einen Gutschein unseres Hauses als Geschenk machen möchten:
 

Gutschein bitte an folgende Adresse senden:
Bitte lassen Sie uns wissen, wie Sie den Gutschein begleichen möchten:
 mit Einzahlungsschein
 mit Banküberweisung
Nach Erhalt Ihrer Einzahlung ist der Gutschein 2 Jahre gültig.
Bestellung absenden!
X

HOTEL & LAGE

PREISE & BUCHEN

     IM HOTEL     

INFORMATIONEN

  IMPRESSIONEN  

PRESSE
& MEDIEN

HISTORIE

KONTAKT

ENGLISH

Spezialangebot im Januar

×
Drei übernachtungen zum Preis von zwei. In der Zeit zwischen dem 08. und 29.01.2018 können Sie von diesem Angebot profitieren.
 x  und  x 
 als Familie bevorzugen wir zwei verbundene Zimmer
 als Einzelgast bevorzuge ich ein Doppelzimmer zur Einzelnutzung
Sie erhalten umgehend eine Empfangsbestätigung Ihrer Anfrage.     Anfrage absenden!